Where Do We Go From Here?

I get that most people would do an end of the year wrap-up at like…the end of the year…but I started this blog just over a year ago and so I’m really not off by that much. Plus, it’s only January 16th, so cool your jets, it was just December like 16 days ago.

So, boys and girls, what did we learn about book challenges?

We learned they are pretty damn hard. Especially when working three jobs, taking four classes, attempting to keep up with homework, trying to get straight A’s (which I did, by the way, for the entirety of my grad school career. Sorry, just needed a moment to brag there), and keeping up a fun social life. For a while there, I legitimately stopped reading, just because I didn’t have the time. Sad Allie, indeed.

I have 35 books on The List, 6 of which I haven’t read yet (they’re future reads) and one that I started but then school happened and I had to stop, but I’m going back to it just ’cause it’s so dang good. Considering how busy I was, when I thought a year ago that I was going to have a really slow life, that’s pretty good, and I declare myself a winner! Because I can, that’s why.

So, where do we go from here?

Well now that I actually have time to read (oh. Do I have the time.) I’ve actually been reading! I just finished Freakonomics, which was fantastically awesome and I lurved it. But I don’t really want to write about it. I kind of want to write about why I read it, but not what’s in it, exactly, because you can find a summary anywhere and really, in looking back at the past year, I enjoyed writing about books and their applicability to other “things” (IDK either).

So, what’s the blog now?

The blog is the “I’m currently reading [this book named right here] and here’s why it’s good/not good/interesting/boring as s*** and why you should read it/avoid it at all costs/skim the wikipedia page to sound intelligent.” It’s also going to be the “current events in LibraryLand” blog because hey guess what I’m a librarian! and the “can you believe this [thing related to books] happened” blog. In short, I get to pick and choose. I have a lot of drafts that didn’t really fit with the old theme, and I’d like to write more about them (like why 50 Shades of Grey is still going like gangbusters, or why I think the new YA covers on classic literature is pretty cool and not worth feeling stressed about, or why I think getting an MBA to be a librarian would be a good thing).

So, the title of the blog changed, but the website stayed the same. What gives?

Well, I can change the title, but not the URL. “A Year of Reading Daringly” refers to the original challenge. I’m not good at expanding my horizons in reading, even though I love reading. Still need to work on that, so let’s keep working on that! And I think the URL for this blog is still perfect. There are 52 weeks in a year. It can be a challenge to read each and every one of those weeks, but it’s a good challenge, and I think I’m up to it. Let’s do this. (Again.)

Leave a Reply

